Friday 13 December 2013

Phase Six

The DfT today announced that Wigan North Western to Bolton (Strictly Wigan Station Junction to Lostock Junction) will be electrified, with completion targeted for 2017.

A task force has been set up to consider "where next" for electrification in Northern England.  They  have a list of routes to examine:
  • Leeds-Harrogate-York
  • Selby-Hull
  • Sheffield-Leeds
  • Sheffield-Doncaster
  • East Coast main line-Middlesbrough
  • Sheffield-Manchester
  • Warrington-Chester
  • Crewe-Chester.